Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Toddling my way to the shore

I first laid my eyes on you

Taken aback by the twinkle in your eyes

I was mesmerised

Drawn to you, like a mouse to a piper

I followed every rhythm

Dancing to the tune of the waves

Making castles out of sand

Your playfulness was unabashed

A little too much for the child of that hour

Threatening tears loomed in the corner

You divulged a few trinkets

Making the child exhilarated.

Not long after, we became friends

Whispering secrets, sharing guffaws

Consoling each other in our sad wallows

You would be patient with me

Gently caressing me with your spritz

The first time I dared to set sail

Everything was topsy-turvy, and I felt a swirl

You were an anchor holding me firm.

Many nights, when I lay on the deck of the ship

I gaze at the stars, listening to your pleasant rip.

Glittering in the sun like thousands of diamonds

Glowing in the moonlight, an enigma

You are a sight to behold

But when comes a tempest

Fierce, powerful, all-consuming

I hear your anger and wails 

Drowning out your pains.

I sometimes get intimidated by your vastness

But you shush my fears, lulling me with your roars.

Sitting ashore staring at the horizon, I sometimes wonder

How I wish to cross this aquamarine yonder.

Wishing everyone a very happy holidays!!

Leave a comment

I’m Anulekha

Welcome to my small corner of the world!

Since childhood, I have been a taciturn person who became awkward while conversing. One day, I discovered the power of a pen, and since then, it has become my reliable friend.

Let’s connect